presentation
  access
  management
  job opportunities
  teaching resources
  publications
  contacts
  Morphogenesis, Signaling, Modeling
  Dynamics and Expression of plant Genomes
  Adaptation of Plants to the Environment
  Reproduction and Seeds
b
  Plant cell wall, function and utilization
  administrative team
  communication
  informatics
  workshop
  kitchen
  store
IJPB
blanc msm blanc deg blanc ape blancrg blancrg
blanc iNRA
présentation pôles laboratoires communs services communs intranet liens actualité
 

 

 

 

The activities of the MSM department "morphogenesis, signaling, modeling" are dedicated to the study of the mechanisms of plant morphogenesis. Our studies are focused primarily on the cellular level (control of cell division, cell polarity ...) but also extend to the whole plant (eg signaling between organs). We are interested in the issues of totipotency and cell differentiation in the plant but also in vitro. We use modeling approaches to better understand these complex phenomena.
The teams from the MSM department not only work on biological models such as Arabidopsis thaliana, Brachypodium or the moss Physcomitrella patens but also on species of agronomic interest such as pea or cotton. We mainly use classical approaches of genetics and functional genomics complemented by methods of biochemistry and chemistry. We exploit many imaging techniques for which we develop novel quantitative approaches. The purpose of our work is a better understanding of plant development in order to propose innovative strategies to improve plant resources and their uses. This happens, for example by modifying plant architecture, and further upstream, by improving processing techniques and regeneration.



Teams :

The team « Cellular adhesion in plant » study the network of polysaccharides, plant cell wall components linking the cells together, to better understand mechanisms responsible for cohesion during the cellular dynamics all along the growth and the development of the plant. The group uses the model plants Arabidopsis thaliana and Brachypodium distachychion concerning respectively dicotyledonous and grasses. More recently, rice, a crop plant, is also studied.

The team « Biology of the Cell and Regeneration » is focused on control of regeneration technics by organogenesis or somatic embryogenesis and genes transfer to in vitro grown plant cells. Objectives concern fundamental uses (transient activities, "knock-out"...) or more focused studies (resistance to abiotic stresses, biomass use…). Model plants Arabidopsis thaliana and Brachypodium distachyon and also agronomical important crops sorghum and cotton are the studied species. The group is involved in a project aimed to characterize cell regenerating transcriptome profiles (organogenesis in Arabidopsis thaliana and somatic embryogenesis in cotton).

The team « Spatial control of cell division » In higher plants, the cytoskeleton steadily undergoes structural reorganizations which accompany and/or determine every stage in cell division, elongation and differentiation. Our aim is to characterize cellular activities and regulation networks involved in the organization of microtubule arrays during the cell cycle in land plants. Our studies are focused on entry into mitosis and premitotic determination of the division plane in plant cells. We try to clarify the role of the preprophase band, a specific feature of plant cells, and more generally to explore the links between the microtubule cytoskeleton and the cell cycle machinery. Recent results of the group have revealed a large regulatory complex (TTP) composed of several protein partners. The recruitment of the TTP complex to the cytoskeleton, and its activity at the G2/M transition are necessary for division plane determination and PPB formation in Arabidopsis and moss. This complex also plays a pivotal role in the organization of the interphase array during diffuse growth.

The team « Branching control in plants » aims to have a better understanding of the genetic, molecular and physiological factors that control axillary buds outgrowth or dormancy. In particular, we focus on the biosynthesis and the signaling pathways of a novel class of phytohormones, the strigolactones, which inhibit branching. Our work is based on a large collection of pea mutants specifically affected in stem branching. The same genes are studied in the moss Physcomitrella patens, to better understand the evolution of strigolactone function in land plants.

The team « Cell differentiation and polarity » team studies cellular mechanisms of development associated to the acquisition of cell identity thought two models: tumor mutants and phloem ontogenesis. The group is focused on the role of fatty acids on cell differentiation and polarity, particularly on biosynthesis, compartmentalization and the role of long chain fatty acids in general and more precisely sphingolipids. Role of palmitoylation is also studied.

The team « Transcription factors and plant architecture » focuses on the mechanisms controlling the morphogenesis of the aerial part of plants and on their evolution. For this, we study the function of two families of transcription factors (homeodomain proteins of the TALE family proteins and NAM / CUC proteins regulated by the microRNA miR164) in the development of meristems, leaves and flowers in Arabidopsis and other species.

The team « Modeling and Digitial Imaging » develops methods, algorithms and tools for processing, analyzing and modeling data generated, primarily, by biological imaging techniques. We aim, on the one hand, at unraveling principles of spatial organization and, on the other hand, at understanding the factors and mechanisms that subtend these principles. Our activity is thus at the intersection of image processing and analysis, spatial statistics, and modeling.



 

 

 

 

 
 presentation
 acces
 contact
 research groups
 publications


© INRA 2010
home IJPB

généralités
  accès
  comité de direction
  offres d'emploi
  enseignements
  publications
  Contacts
  morphogenèse, signalisation, modélisation
  dynamique et expression des génomes
  adaptation des plantes à leur environnement
  reproduction et graines
  paroi végétale, fonction et usage
  secrétariat
  communication
  informatique
  atelier
  laverie
  magasin
IJPB
msm deg ape rg pave
iNRA
présentation pôles Observatoire du Végétal services communs intranet liens actualité
 

 

 

 

 

Les activités du pôle thématique MSM « Morphogenèse, Signalisation, Modélisation » sont dédiées à l’étude des mécanismes à la base de la morphogenèse végétale. Nos études sont essentiellement centrées sur l’échelle cellulaire (contrôle de la division cellulaire, polarité cellulaire…) mais s’étendent également à la plante entière (signalisation entre organes par exemple). Nous nous intéressons ainsi à la totipotence et à la différenciation des cellules dans la plante mais aussi in vitro. Nous faisons appel à des approches de modélisation afin de mieux comprendre ces phénomènes complexes.
Les équipes du pôle MSM travaillent non seulement sur des modèles biologiques tels que Arabidopsis thaliana Brachypodium ou la mousse Physcomitrella patens mais aussi sur des espèces d’intérêt agronomique comme le pois ou le cotonnier. Nous utilisons principalement des approches classiques de génétique et de génomique fonctionnelle complétées par des méthodes de biochimie et de chimie. Nous exploitons beaucoup les techniques d’imageries pour lesquelles nous développons des approches quantitatives originales. La finalité de nos travaux est une meilleure compréhension du développement des plantes afin de pouvoir proposer des stratégies innovantes d’amélioration de l’adéquation entre les ressources végétales et leurs utilisations. Ceci passe par exemple par une modification de l’architecture des plantes, et plus en amont, par l’amélioration des techniques de transformation et de régénération.


 

Equipes :

L’équipe « Biologie cellulaire et régénération » s’intéresse au contrôle des techniques de régénération par organogénèse ou embryogenèse somatique ainsi qu’aux méthodes de transfert de gènes aux cellules végétales cultivées in vitro. Les objectifs concernent, soit des utilisations fondamentales (activité transitoire, "knock-out", ...), soit des études plus ciblées (résistance aux stress abiotiques, utilisation de la biomasse,...). Les espèces concernées sont deux plantes modèles : Arabidopsis thaliana et Brachypodium distachyon ainsi que deux espèces d’intérêt agronomique : le sorgho et le cotonnier. L’équipe est impliquée dans un projet qui a pour objectif de caractériser le profil transcriptome des cellules en cours de régénération. (organogenèse chez Arabidopsis thaliana et embryogenèse somatique chez le cotonnier).

L’équipe « Contrôle spatial de la division cellulaire» à pour objectif de caractériser les activités cellulaires et les réseaux de régulation impliqués dans la mise en place des réseaux de cytosquelette qui se succèdent au cours du cycle cellulaire chez les plantes terrestres. L'équipe s'intéresse en particulier à l'entrée en mitose et à la détermination du site cortical de division. Elle cherche à clarifier les liens entre cytosquelette microtubulaire et cycle cellulaire, et à préciser le rôle de l'anneau de préprophase. Cette structure spécifique de l'appareil cytokinétique des plantes terrestres est impliquée dans la détermination prémitotique du plan de division. A partir d'approches génétique, biochimiques, cytologiques et bioinformatiques, l'équipe a mis en évidence un vaste complexe protéique régulateur, dont le recrutement au cytosquelette et l'activité à la transition G2/M sont nécessaires pour le positionnement du plan de division. Les études sont conduites de façon parallèle chez les espèces modèles Arabidopsis thaliana et la mousse Physcomitrella patens.

L’équipe « Contrôle de la ramification des plantes » cherche à mieux comprendre les facteurs génétiques, moléculaires et physiologiques qui dirigent le démarrage d’un bourgeon axillaire ou son maintien à l’état de dormance. En particulier, nous nous intéressons à la biosynthèse et à la voie de signalisation d’une nouvelle classe d’hormones, les strigolactones, qui répriment la ramification. Nos études se basent sur une importante collection de mutants de pois affectés spécifiquement dans la ramification des tiges. Les mêmes gènes sont étudiés chez la mousse Physcomitrella patens pour mieux comprendre l’évolution de la fonction des strigolactones chez les plantes terrestres.

L’équipe « Différenciation et polarité cellulaire » étudie les mécanismes cellulaires du développement associé à l'acquisition de l'identité cellulaire au travers de deux modèles : les mutants tumoraux et l'ontogénèse du phloème. L'équipe étudie en particulier le rôle des acides gras sur la différenciation et la polarité cellulaire. Nous nous focalisons sur la biosynthèse, la compartimentation et le rôle des acides gras à très longues chaînes en général et des sphingolipides en particulier, mais aussi sur le rôle de la palmitoylation.

L’équipe « Facteurs de transcription et architecture » s’intéresse aux mécanismes de contrôle de la morphogenèse de la partie arienne des plantes et à leur évolution. Pour cela, nous étudions la fonction de deux familles de facteurs de transcription (les protéines à homéodomaine de la famille TALE et les protéines NAM/CUC régulés par le microARN, miR164) lors du développement des méristèmes, feuilles et fleurs chez Arabidopsis et d’autres espèces.

L'équipe « Modélisation et imagerie numérique » a pour objectifs de développer des méthodes, des algorithmes et des outils pour traiter, analyser et modéliser des données issues principalement d'imagerie biologique. Nous cherchons, d'une part, à mettre en évidence des principes d'organisation spatiale et, d'autre part, à comprendre les facteurs et les mécanismes qui les sous-tendent. Nos développements relèvent ainsi du traitement et de l'analyse d'images, des statistiques spatiales et de la modélisation.



Publications significatives :

Andrey P, Kieu K, Kress C, Lehmann G, Tirichine L, Liu Z, Biot E, Adenot PG, Hue-Beauvais C, Houba-Herin N, Duranthon V, Devinoy E, Beaujean N, Gaudin V, Maurin Y, Debey P (2010) Statistical analysis of 3D images detects regular spatial distributions of centromeres and chromocenters in animal and plant nuclei. PLoS Comput Biol 6: e1000853 (pubmed)

Azimzadeh J, Nacry P, Christodoulidou A, Drevensek S, Camilleri C, Amiour N, Parcy F, Pastuglia M, Bouchez D (2008) Arabidopsis TONNEAU1 proteins are essential for preprophase band formation and interact with centrin. Plant Cell 20: 2146-2159 (pubmed)

Bach L, Gissot L, Marion J, Tellier F, Moreau P, Satiat-Jeunemaitre B, Palauqui JC, Napier JA, Faure JD (2011) Very-long-chain fatty acids are required for cell plate formation during cytokinesis in Arabidopsis thaliana. J Cell Sci 124: 3223-3234 (pubmed)

Bach L, Michaelson LV, Haslam R, Bellec Y, Gissot L, Marion J, Da Costa M, Boutin JP, Miquel M, Tellier F, Domergue F, Markham JE, Beaudoin F, Napier JA, Faure JD (2008) The very-long-chain hydroxy fatty acyl-CoA dehydratase PASTICCINO2 is essential and limiting for plant development. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A 105: 14727-14731 (pubmed)

Blein T, Hasson A, Laufs P (2010) Leaf development: what it needs to be complex. Curr Opin Plant Biol 13: 75-82 (pubmed)

Blein T, Pulido A, Vialette-Guiraud A, Nikovics K, Morin H, Hay A, Johansen IE, Tsiantis M, Laufs P (2008) A conserved molecular framework for compound leaf development. Science 322: 1835-1839 (pubmed)

Braun N, de Saint Germain A, Pillot JP, Boutet-Mercey S, Dalmais M, Antoniadi I, Li X, Maia-Grondard A, Le Signor C, Bouteiller N, Luo D, Bendahmane A, Turnbull C, Rameau C (2012) The Pea TCP Transcription Factor PsBRC1 Acts Downstream of Strigolactones to Control Shoot Branching. Plant Physiol 158: 225-238 (pubmed)

Chupeau Y, Davey M (2007) Gene transfer to plants. In Functional Plant Genomics, Enfield, NH, USA Editor : Morot-Gaudry, JF, Lea, P, Briat, JF: 123-142

Drevensek S, Goussot M, Duroc Y, Christodoulidou A, Steyaert S, Schaefer E, Duvernois E, Grandjean O, Vantard M, Bouchez D, Pastuglia M (2012) The Arabidopsis TRM1-TON1 interaction reveals a recruitment network common to plant cortical microtubule arrays and eukaryotic centrosomes. The Plant cell 24: 178-191 (pubmed)

Dun EA, de Saint Germain A, Rameau C, Beveridge CA (2012) Antagonistic action of strigolactone and cytokinin in bud outgrowth control. Plant Physiol 158: 487-498 (pubmed)

Gomez-Roldan V, Fermas S, Brewer PB, Puech-Pages V, Dun EA, Pillot JP, Letisse F, Matusova R, Danoun S, Portais JC, Bouwmeester H, Becard G, Beveridge CA, Rameau C, Rochange SF (2008) Strigolactone inhibition of shoot branching. Nature 455: 189-194 (pubmed)

Hasson A, Plessis A, Blein T, Adroher B, Grigg S, Tsiantis M, Boudaoud A, Damerval C, Laufs P (2011) Evolution and Diverse Roles of the CUP-SHAPED COTYLEDON Genes in Arabidopsis Leaf Development. Plant Cell 23: 54-68 (pubmed)

Konan KE, Durand-Gasselin T, Kouadio YJ, Flori A, Rival A, Duval Y, Pannetier C (2010) In vitro conservation of oil palm somatic embryos for 20 years on a hormone-free culture medium: characteristics of the embryogenic cultures, derived plantlets and adult palms. Plant Cell Rep 29: 1-13 (pubmed)

Markham JE, Molino D, Gissot L, Bellec Y, Hematy K, Marion J, Belcram K, Palauqui JC, Satiat-Jeunemaitre B, Faure JD (2011) Sphingolipids containing very-long-chain fatty acids define a secretory pathway for specific polar plasma membrane protein targeting in Arabidopsis. The Plant cell 23: 2362-2378 (pubmed)

Proust H, Hoffmann B, Xie X, Yoneyama K, Schaefer DG, Nogue F, Rameau C (2011) Strigolactones regulate protonema branching and act as a quorum sensing-like signal in the moss Physcomitrella patens. Development 138: 1531-1539 (pubmed)

Ragni L, Belles-Boix E, Gunl M, Pautot V (2008) Interaction of KNAT6 and KNAT2 with BREVIPEDICELLUS and PENNYWISE in Arabidopsis inflorescences. Plant Cell 20: 888-900 (pubmed)

Roudier F, Gissot L, Beaudoin F, Haslam R, Michaelson L, Marion J, Molino D, Lima A, Bach L, Morin H, Tellier F, Palauqui JC, Bellec Y, Renne C, Miquel M, Dacosta M, Vignard J, Rochat C, Markham JE, Moreau P, Napier J, Faure JD (2010) Very-long-chain fatty acids are involved in polar auxin transport and developmental patterning in Arabidopsis. Plant Cell 22: 364-375 (pubmed)

Spinner L, Pastuglia M, Belcram K, Pegoraro M, Goussot M, Bouchez D, Schaefer DG (2010) The function of TONNEAU1 in moss reveals ancient mechanisms of division plane specification and cell elongation in land plants. Development 137: 2733-2742 (pubmed)

Tirichine L, Andrey P, Biot E, Maurin Y, Gaudin V (2009) 3D fluorescent in situ hybridization using Arabidopsis leaf cryosections and isolated nuclei. Plant Methods 5: 11 (pubmed)

Truernit E, Bauby H, Belcram K, Barthelemy J, Palauqui JC (2012) OCTOPUS, a polarly localised membrane-associated protein, regulates phloem differentiation entry in Arabidopsis thaliana. Development 139: 1306-1315 (pubmed)

Truernit E, Bauby H, Dubreucq B, Grandjean O, Runions J, Barthelemy J, Palauqui JC (2008) High-resolution whole-mount imaging of three-dimensional tissue organization and gene expression enables the study of Phloem development and structure in Arabidopsis. Plant Cell 20: 1494-1503 (pubmed)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 généralités
 accès
 contact
 équipes
 publications


© INRA 2010
retour page d'accueil IJPB